Woman thanks Greensboro officer, DOT worker for helping her after truck breaks down

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Ashley Wade was rushing to work Thursday morning, driving down Interstate 40 near the Four Seasons Mall exit when her truck started to break down.

The check engine light came on.

“Then it just cut off on me,” Wade said.

She pulled over to the side of the road to call for help.

“I’m holding the phone, and I’m about to call the tow truck and somebody knocks on my window and it was the officer,” she said.

Officer Jason Strickland with Greensboro police saw her stranded and pulled over to help.

“‘Are you okay’ was the first thing he asked me,” she said.

“He was like ‘I can stay here with you until the tow truck comes’ and I was like ‘thank you,'” she said.

Moments later, Wade got a second knock on her window.

Someone from the Department of Transportation also spotted her car and stayed with her until the tow truck came.

“We just started talking the entire time,” Wade said. “They were right by my window. They stayed with me.”

Wade says the DOT worker even gave her his lunch when she got hungry.

“We pretty much just ate and talked until the truck driver came,” she said.

For a whole hour, Wade says the two men stayed, talked, and laughed with her, helping her forget she was in an emergency.

“I was so grateful and appreciative of that,” she said.

Now that she’s safe and sound, Wade has a special message for the two men who went out of their way to keep her safe.

“I just want to say thank you so much,” she said.

Leave a Reply

